Reason
DX FIBRO
Diagnosis
10/2008
Country
CA
State
PE
I am a retired med lab tech ( R.T. in Canada), mid-60's, living in PEI. Was diagnosed in 2008, following three shoulder surgeries in 06-07. Oh, should probably mention I am male, married with three daughters and six grandkids.
After the surgeries, began experiencing chronic idiopathic (stoopid) pain in both shoulders. Ended up in a pain clinic, trying to find the cause. One day I found my legs began to feel the same: the Doc's eyes widened, then he began finding points where the slightest pressure triggered a surprisingly over-the-top response. Turns out this was a method of diagnosis... out of 19 pressure points, I scored 15. This is when I first heard about fm, as any score above 10 was definitive.
Now, pushing twenty years later, both the number and variety of symptoms and the level of discomfort have increased exponentially. Life sucks. Not a single aspect of that life has been left untouched. It affects my physical abilities, my metal acuity, my emotional control, mood, appetite, sex life, ... pretty much everything.
I would like to talk with other fm sufferers, perhaps to learn, perhaps just to commiserate.
OK, 'nuff for now. A huge thank you to the admins/mods who work to create this ..haven.

Ttfn
Bob

Hiya Bob
Welcome, nice to have you here, just a bit of a git any of us have to be here really. But at least it's a place where everyone just gets what you feel, can advise,support and as you say commiserate. Totally agree that fibro definitely affects more than physical pain. Every aspect of our lives can be touched. But I have to say almost all of what I have learned about fibromyalgia has been from the members of this forum.

Course not everyone's meds,supplements or methods can help everyone, as you know after 20+ years of living with this condition you've probably tried a lot. But good you found yourself here. Just ask anyone anything is my advice.

Ttfn? You got some English blood in you??! 😁